2024 Gwangju Biennale Announces Participating Artists

The Gwangju Biennale, Asia’s premier recurring art event, has announced the lineup of artists for its 2024 edition, set to open in the South Korean city on September 7.

This year, the exhibition is curated by Nicolas Bourriaud, a French curator renowned for his work on relational aesthetics in the 1990s. Bourriaud’s approach to the Gwangju Biennale is marked by an ambitious concept that positions sound as a fundamental element in shaping our existence.

The theme for the Biennale is “Pansori, a soundscape of the 21st century,” drawing inspiration from a traditional Korean musical form that originated in the 17th century. According to the Biennale’s announcement, “pansori” in Korean translates to “the noise from the public place,” which today might be interpreted as “the voice of the subalterns.” This theme hints at the influence of subaltern studies, a critical framework for analyzing postcolonial South Asia, in shaping the exhibition’s focus.

The artist list:

Saâdane Afif
Haseeb Ahmed
Deniz Aktaş
Noel W. Anderson
Andrius Arutiunian
Kevin Beasley
Wendimagegn Belete
Bianca Bondi
Dora Budor
Peter Buggenhout
Angela Bulloch
Alex Cerveny
Cheng Xinhao
Choi Haneyl
Gaëlle Choisne
Anna Conway
Binta Diaw
John Dowell
Hayden Dunham
Liam Gillick
Loris Gréaud
Matthias Groebel
Matthew Angelo Harrison
Marguerite Humeau
Agata Ingarden
Hye Joo Jun
Jun Hyoung San
Kim Hyeong Suk
Kim Jayi
YoungEun Kim
Dominique Knowles
Agnieszka Kurant
Hyewon Kwon
Netta Laufer
Brianna Leatherbury
Yein Lee
Oswaldo Maciá
Mira Mann
Cinthia Marcelle
Vladislav Markov
Beaux Mendes
Myriam Mihindou
Na Mira
Saadia Mirza
David Noonan
Katja Novitskova
Josèfa Ntjam
Emeka Ogboh
Frida Orupabo
Lydia Ourahmane
Mimi Park
Philippe Parreno
Amol K. Patil
Harrison Pearce
Lucy Raven
Tabita Rezaire
Marina Rheingantz
Marina Rosenfeld
Max Hooper Schneider
Franck Scurti
Soomin Shon
Jura Shust
Marianna Simnett
Sofya Skidan
Anastasia Sosunova
Jakob Kudsk Steensen
Sung Tieu
Julian Abraham “Togar”
Unmake Lab
Yuyan Wang
Ambera Wellmann
Kandis Williams
Phillip Zach